Right to vote and to stand as a candidate in Municipal/Community Elections

Every EU citizen residing in an EU country of which he/she is not a national has the right to vote and to stand as a candidate at municipal elections in his/her country of residence, under the same conditions as nationals of that country. The main rule is thus that EU citizens living in another EU country are treated as if they were nationals of the country in which they live.

If an EU country requires a minimum period of residence from its own nationals as a condition for participation in local elections, similar minimum period of residence can be required from non-national EU citizens. However, they are deemed to have fulfilled that condition where they have resided an equivalent period in another EU country.

It should be noticed that Community law guarantees the franchise only in local elections. Right to vote and to stand as a candidate in regional elections or in national elections is covered by national legislation, and it depends thus of the EU country whether it grants the right to participate to regional or national elections to citizens of other EU countries.

Right to Vote

An EU citizen can exercise his/her right to vote in the country of residence, if he/she has expressed the wish to do so. The EU voters are entered on the electoral rolls according to the national provisions of the country of residence. In order to have his/her name entered on the electoral roll, an EU voter produces the same documents as a voter who is a national. They can be also required to produce a valid identity document, a formal declaration stating their nationality and their address in the country of residence.

EU citizens, who have been entered on an electoral roll in their country of residence, remain on the roll as long as they satisfy the requirements for exercising the right to vote. If they have been entered on the roll at their request, they can also be removed if they so request.

Right to Stand as a Candidate

As regards standing as a candidate, EU citizens must produce the same supporting documents as national candidates, when they present their application for candidacy. They can be also required to produce a valid identity document and a declaration on their nationality and their address in the country of residence. Furthermore, they can be required to state in a formal declaration that they have not been deprived the right to stand as a candidate in their home country, possibly with a respective attestation, and that they hold no public office in their home country, which is incompatible with holding an elected office in the country of residence.

Useful References

Council Directive 94/80/EC of 19 December 1994, laying down detailed arrangements for the exercise of the right to vote and stand as a candidate in municpal elections for citizens of the Union residing in a Member State of which they are not nationals.


Report from the Commission of the European Parliament and the Council on the application of Directive 94/80/EC on the right to vote and to stand as a candidate in municipal elections. COM(2002)260 final, 30.5.2002.

Useful Information on National Provisions

Elections for local authorities - Who has the right to vote and stand as a candidate?

Persons entitled to vote must be nationls of a Member State of the European Union who are over 18 years of age, are entered on a special electoral roll in Cyprus and have not been deprived of their right to vote either in Cyprus or in their home Member State. Any person who meets all the requirements for exercising the right to vote and is over 25 years of age also has the right to stand as a candidate. 

What Cyprus is doing - What must I do in order to be able to vote?

You must submit the following application to be entered on the special electoral roll.

Your application may be submitted to the local offices of your District Administration at any time during the year. The electoral roll is revised and updated four times a year, on 2 January, 2 April, 2 July and 2 October.

EU citizens who have been entered on the special roll remain registered as long as they reside in Cyprus and satisfy the conditions for exercising the right to vote, and unless they apply to be removed from the electoral rolls.

Applications for removal from the special electoral roll must also be submitted to the local offices of the regional administration at least fifteen days before the elections.

Since voting is compulsory in Cyprus, EU citizens of other Member States who are on the electoral roll must exercise their right to vote in the same way as Cypriots who are eligible to vote.

Candidature Applications

Candidature applications must be submitted to the General Election Officer at the time and place announced by the officer by means of publication in the Official Gazette of the Republic of Cyprus and public display within the Municipality/Community at least five days before the date for submission of applications.

EU citizens may not stand as candidate mayors or presidents of community and if they are elected as members of the council they may not be elected as deputy mayors or presidents of community.

Candidates may submit their applications in conjunction with a party/coalition of parties/coalition of independents or as independents.

The maximum number of candidates for each coalition may not exceed the number provided for by law, which is the number of seats attributed to each Municipality/Community.




Each candidate must submit the following:

the candidature signed by two voters, one of whom propose the candidature and the other second it,

a declaration by the candidate that he/she meets the conditions on eligibiliy, and a deposit of € 85.43.





Candidates from other Member States must, in additon to the above, also submit the following:


1. a formal declaration stating:

- their nationality

- their usual place of residence in Cyprus (address)

- their last address in their Member State of origin

- where applicable, the last electoral roll on which they were entered in their Member State of origin

- they have not been deprived of the right to stand as a candidate there

- that they are not also standing as a candidate in the elections to the European Parliament in another Member State or in Cyprus on the list of another party or coalition of parties,

- the date as from which he/she is a citizen of a Member State.

2. Confirmation from the competent authorities of their Member State of origin that they have not been deprived of the right to stand as a candidate there or that those authorities are unaware of such deprivation of rights.

3. a Cyprus idendity card


The names of the candidates are made public in an announcement by the General Election Officer displayed at the place where the candidatures were submitted. Any interested party may then appeal in writing against any of the candidatures on the grounds specified by law within 24 hours of the final date for submission of candidature.

Right to vote and to stand as a candidate in Municipal/Community Elections

Wahl

For more information contact

Ministry of Interior

Elections Service

1453 Nicosia

Tel.: 22867714

Fax: 22678486

Mail: moi%27%gov%27%cy,elections


National rules


The Minicipal and Community Elections (Citizens of other Member States) Law of 2004 (N.98(I)/2004)


The Election of Members of the House of Representatives (N.72 of 1979 up to 3(I)/2003)


The Municipalities Law (N.III of 1987 up to 47(I)/2003)


The Communities Law (N. 86(I) of 1999 up to 228(I)/2002)

Aktives und Passives Wahlrecht für EU-Bürger in Zypern

Jeder Bürger der Europäischen Union, der in einem Mitgliedsstaat lebt, dessen Staatsangehörigkeit er nicht besitzt, besitzt bei den Kommunalwahlen des Wohnsitzlandes dasselbe aktive und passive Wahlrecht wie die Bürger dieses Mitgliedsstaates. Grundregel ist demzufolge, dass die Bürger der Europäischen Union, die in einem anderen Mitgliedsstaat leben, als Staatsangehörige des Wohnsitzlandes betrachtet werden.

Wenn ein Mitgliedsstaat der Europäischen Union als Voraussetzung an den Kommunalwahlen seinen Bürgern eine Mindestaufenthaltsfrist setzt, so kann er den Staatsangehörigen eines anderen Mitgliedsstaates eine ähnliche Mindestaufenthaltsfrist setzen. Diese Voraussetzung gilt als erfüllt, wenn sie sich die entsprechende Zeit in einem anderen Mitgliedsstaat der Europäischen Union aufgehalten haben.

Es muss betont werden, dass das Gemeinschaftsrecht das Wahlrecht nur bei lokalen Wahlen einräumt. Das aktive und passive Wahlrecht bei Regional- oder Landeswahlen wird durch die nationale Legislatur geregelt und die Gewährung des Teilnahmerechts an Regional- und Landeswahlen für Bürger anderer Mitgliedsstaaten ist folglich dem jeweiligen Mitgliedsstaat der Europäischen Union überlassen.

Aktives Wahlrecht

Die Bürger der Europäischen Union können das aktive Wahlrecht in ihrem Wohnsitzland ausüben, insofern sie diesen Wunsch zum Ausdruck bringen. Die Wähler der Europäischen Union werden in Übereinstimmung mit den Vorschriften im Wohnsitzland in spezielle Wählerverzeichnisse eingetragen. Zum Zweck der Eintragung in die speziellen Wählerverzeichnisse muss der Wähler der Europäischen Union dieselben Dokumente wie die einheimischen Wähler vorlegen. Es ist auch möglich, dass die Vorlage eines gültigen Personalausweises und einer eidesstattlichen Erklärung über die Staatsangehörigkeit und die Adresse im Wohnsitzland erforderlich ist.

Die Bürger der Europäischen Union, die in die speziellen Wählerverzeichnisse im Wohnsitzland eingetragen sind, bleiben eingetragen, solange sie die Voraussetzungen für das aktive Wahlrecht erfüllen. Wenn die Eintragung in das Verzeichnis infolge eines Antrages erfolgte, können sie auf Wunsch aus diesen Verzeichnissen gelöscht werden.

Passives Wahlrecht

Im Hinblick auf das passive Wahlrecht müssen die Bürger der Europäischen Union bei der Unterbreitung ihrer Kandidatur dieselben Dokumente wie die einheimischen Kandidaten vorlegen. Es ist auch möglich, dass die Vorlage eines gültigen Personalausweises und einer eidesstattlichen Erklärung über die Staatsangehörigkeit und die Adresse im Wohnsitzland erforderlich ist. Es ist weiterhin möglich, dass die Unionskandidaten eine eidesstattliche Erklärung abgeben müssen, die besagt, dass sie in ihrem Herkunftsland das passive Wahlrecht nicht verloren haben, möglicherweise mit einer einschlägigen Bestätigung, und dass sie in ihrem Herkunftsland kein öffentliches Amt innehaben, das nicht mit dem Besitz eines gewählten Amtes im Wohnsitzland vereinbar ist. 

Nützliche Hinweise

Richtlinie 93/109/EG des Rates vom 19. Dezember 1994, über die Einzelheiten zur Ausübung des aktiven und passiven Wahlrechts bei den Kommunalwahlen für Unionsbürger mit Wohnsitz in einem anderen Mitgliedsstaat, dessen Staatsangehörigkeit sie nicht besitzen.


Bericht der Kommission an das Europäische Parlament und den Rat über die Anwendung der Richtlinie 94/80/EG über die Ausübung des aktiven und passiven Wahlrechts bei den Kommunalwahlen. KOM (2002) 260 Endf., 30.5.2002. 

Nützliche Informationen über die nationalen Verordnungen - Kommunalwahlen -

Wer hat ein aktives und passives Wahrecht?

  

Ein Wahlrecht besitzen die Staatsangehörigen eines Mitgliedsstaates der Europäischen Union ab 18 Jahren, die im speziellen Wählerverzeichnis stehen und ihr Wahlrecht in Zypern und in ihrem Herkunftsland nicht verloren haben. Jede Person, die zur Ausübung des aktiven Wahlrechts berechtigt ist und bis zum Wahltag das 25. Lebensjahr erreicht hat, hat ebenfalls das passive Wahlrecht. 

Was geschieht in Zypern?

Was muss man tun, um das Wahlrecht ausüben zu können?


Der Interessent muss folgenden Antrag auf Eintragung in das spezielle Wählerverzeichnis stellen.

Die Anträge der Unionsbürger werden das gesamte Jahr über, im Rahmen der vierteljährlichen Revision des Wählerverzeichnisses, d.h. am 2. Januar, 2. April, 2. Juli und 2. Oktober, bei den örtlichen Kreisverwaltungen gestellt.

Die Eintragung ins spezielle Wählerverzeichnis bleibt in Kraft, solange der Interessent in Zypern wohnhaft ist und die Voraussetzung für das Wahlrecht erfüllt und insofern er nicht die Löschung aus dem Verzeichnis beantragt.

Der Antrag auf Löschung aus dem speziellen Wählerverzeichnis erfolgt ebenfalls bei den örtlichen Kreisverwaltungen, mindestens 15 Tage vor dem Wahltermin.

Die Ausübung des Wahrechts ist in Zypern Pflicht. Deshalb müssen alle Bürger eines anderen Mitgliedsstaates der Europäischen Union, die in das spezielle Wählerverzeichnis aufgenommen wurden, ebenso wie die zyprischen Wähler ihr Wahlrecht ausüben.

Beantragung der Kandidatur

Die Kandidaten werden beim örtlichen Wahlbeauftragten gestellt, an einem Zeitpunkt und Ort, die dieser in seiner Bekanntmachung nennt, welche in der Offiziellen Zeitung der Republik veröffentlicht wird und an gut sichtbaren Orten innerhalb der örtlichen Kommune/Gemeinde mindestens fünf Tage vor dem Antragstermin aufgehängt werden.

Die Unionswähler können nicht für das Amt des Bürgermeisters und Gemeinderatsvorsitzenden kandidieren, und sie können, wenn sie zum Ratsmitglied gewählt werden, auch nicht für das Amt des stellvertretenden Bürgermeisters oder Gemeinderatsvorsitzenden kandidieren.

Die Interessenten beantragen ihre Kandidatur entweder in Kombination mit einer Partei/einer Parteikoalition/unabhängigen Gruppierungen, oder einzeln als unabhängige Kandidaten.

Die Anzahl der Kandidaten für jede Kombination darf die gesetzlich festgelegte nicht überschreiten, die der Anzahl der Wähler in jeder Kommune/Gemeinde entspricht.

Jeder Kandidat legt folgende Dokumente vor:

- Den Vorschlag der Kandidatur, der von vier Wählern unterschrieben ist, wobei zwei Vorschlagende und zwei Unterstützende sind.

- Die Erklärung des Kandidaten, dass er die Voraussetzungen für das passive Wahlrecht erfüllt,

- und zahlt eine Gebühr in Höhe von Euro 85,43.


Ein Staatsangehöriger eines anderen Mitgliedsstaates muss neben seinem Antrag auch folgende Dokumente vorlegen:

1. eine eidesstattliche Erklärung, die folgende Angaben enthält:

- seine/ihre Staatsangehörigkeit

- seinen/ihren gewöhnlichen Aufenthaltsort in der Republik Zypern (Adresse)

- falls zutreffend, das letzte Wählerverzeichnis, in dem er/sie im Herkunftsland eingetragen war,

- dass er/sie das aktive Wahlrecht in seinem Herkunftsland nicht verloren hat

- dass er/sie keine Funktion innehat, die mit dem Gesetz unvereinbar ist,

- seit wann er/sie Staatsangehöriger eines Mitgliedsstaates ist (Datum)

2. eine Bestätigung der zuständigen Behörden des Herkunftslandes, dass er/sie das passive Wahlrecht in diesem Land nicht verloren hat, oder dass ein solcher Verlust den Behörden nicht bekannt ist,

3. den Personalausweis der Republik Zypern.


Die vorgeschlagenen Kandidaten werden durch eine Bekanntmachung des Wahlbeauftragten bekannt gegeben, die am Ort der Kandidatur ausgehängt wird, und jeder Interessent kann innerhalb von 24 Stunden nach Ablauf der Frist für die Beantragung der Kandidatur schriftlich gegen eine Kandidatur Einspruch erheben, aus Gründen, die im Gesetz verankert sind.

Aktives und Passives Wahlrecht für EU-Bürger in Zypern

Wahl

Zentrum für weitere Informationen

Innenministerium

Abteilung Wahlen

1453 Nikosia

Tel.: 22867714

Fax: 22678486

E-Mail: moi%27%gov%27%cy,elections


Verweise:


Gesetz über die Kommunalwahlen (Staatsangehöriger anderer Mitgliedsstaaten) von 2004, (G.98(I)/2004)


Gesetz über die Wahl der Mitglieder des Parlaments (G.72 von 1979 bis 3(I)/2003).


Gesetz über die Kommunen (G.III von 1985 bis 47(I)/2004).


Gesetz über die Gemeinden (G.86(I) von 1999 bis 228(I)/2002).